Paleo Banana & Rhubarb Muffins

I don’t know why, but every time I try and make Paleo-friendly, coconut flour based muffins I always get the quantities off or I forget something – this doesn’t usually hamper the outcome too much, but it is nice to finally get it spot on. Today, I got it spot on. I had rhubarb and 2 over ripe bananas floating about which desperately needed consuming but were clearly past being ok to eat raw. So; this here is the culmination of my overripe fruit, my craving for coconut flour, and a simple love for trying new things. Honestly, someone should stop me sometimes, I feel like a mad scientist thats been let loose on the kitchen. These are pretty good, if I do say so myself.

muffins

Rhubarb & Banana Coconut Flour Muffins

Makes roughly 10 – 12 muffins, can be frozen.

  • 1 cup chopped Rhubarb
  •  1/4 cup, pitted, finely chopped Date
  •  4 large Eggs / 5 medium eggs
  •  2 mashed Bananas
  •  1/4 cup Coconut Cream
  •  2 tbsp Maple Syrup or Agave
  •  2 tsp Vanilla Extract
  •  1/2 tsp Almond Extract
  •  1 tsp Bicarbonate of Soda
  •  1 tsp Baking Powder
  •  30g   Chia Seeds
  •  90g Coconut Flour
  • You can add a few nuts or dried fruit if you wish, but the chia seeds are quite good on their own 🙂

Preheat oven to 350 F.

Grease a 12 hole muffin pan. In a large bowl, mix dates with rhubarb and add enough hot water to cover. Leave for about 5 minutes (to soften).
In another bowl, mix the rest of the ingredients until combined. Drain dates and rhubarb, and stir into muffin batter.
Evenly distribute into 12 muffin pan, and bake 12-18 minutes. Remove from over and leave to stand until cook enough to handle. Remove muffins  from muffin pan and cool on a wire rack.

Simple, and yet highly effective!!

 

Leave a Reply

