#Whole30 Days 7&8

Day 7 started well; the usual Green Smoothie followed by a hearty breakfast. I’ve been trying to work out ways in which to get more carbs into my daily diet, especially in the morning because I feel like I really need the fuel, especially if I am training. I’m also trying to have fruit which has a lower Glycemic index and is a more slow releasing sugar to try and avoid the inevitable sugar spikes. This morning’s smoothie consisted, therefore, of apples, unripe banana (the greener the banana, the lower the sugar content), pear, kale, cucumber, spinach and celery.

The glycemic index (GI) of bananas varies depending upon how ripe the bananas are. This is because a lot of the carbohydrate in green bananas is in the form of a kind of resistant starch which we lack the enzyme to digest. As the fruit ripens, the starch is converted into readily available sugars. 

#Whole30-7

Breakfast included Sweet potato, cut into thin rounds and fried in coconut oil, served with spinach, mushroom, avocado and scrambled eggs – not sure about the sweet potato but it did fill a gap and the carbs were pretty good, although I think next time maybe a mash would be better; with cinnamon. Having eaten breakfast at silly-o’clock I decided that lunch needed to something more substantial than salad; chilli and tomato roasted chicken thighs with broccoli and spinach. Nom. Dinner was a bit of a hash, I went out so it was once again difficult trying to find something I could eat; difficult, but not impossible. I ended up with a rather delicious meal of slow roasted pulled pork on a bed of salad leaves with pickled red onion which was absolutely amazing. If you are ever in the Brixton market area I seriously suggest heading to Bukowski Grill for a mean burger or pulled pork – with or without the bun. 🙂

Paying such close attention to my diet has also made me realise that my body craves sugar when I am tired, and often when I am stressed too. I ate an entire packet of Medjool Dates… quick slap of the wrist required here! For some unfathomable reason I felt my willpower waning today, I don’t know why.

#Whole30-8

Day 8 (INTERNATIONAL WOMEN’S DAY) was a pretty straightforward Friday; I didn’t quite manage breakfast so instead I wolfed down a fruit salad and 2 boiled eggs out of the simple need for fuel. I knew I was going to be making a pretty mean lunch since it was FISH PIE FRIDAY and I was trying hard to think of ways in which to keep the fish pie Whole30 friendly. It started with a morning walk through Brixton Market to see the Fishy, followed by some serious cooking later in the day. It was delicious; so delicious in fact, that I managed to eat 2 ridiculously large portions. Happy tummy. See full recipe below.

Whole30 Friendly, Friday Fish Pie:

  • 1 medium salmon fillet
  • 1 medium cod fillet (or other white fish)
  • 1 medium smoked haddock fillet
  • about 175-200g of prawns
  • 1 whole squid (about 15cm long)
  • 5 small – medium sweet potatoes
  • 1 tin of chopped tomatoes
  • 1 tin coconut milk
  • 1 packet of chopped spring greens or kale
  • 1 small packet of spinach
  • tenderstem broccoli
  • 4-5 garlic cloves
  • olive oil

#Whole30-9

Preheat oven to 200 degrees C, Gas Mark 6. Peel sweet potato and chop into large cubes and place in a pot of salted water. Bring the water to the boil and cook for 15 minutes or until you can easily slide a knife into the soft flesh. While this is boiling, lightly fry the garlic and then add the greens and fry gently for 10 minutes on low heat. Take the sweet potato off the heat; drain, cover and leave to one side. Add tinned tomato to the greens and stir gently, turning the heat up to medium. until it comes to a gentle simmer and then turn the heat down again. Chop the fish fillets into chunks and gentle fry on medium heat in olive oil for 5 minutes, remove from heat and put to one side. Open the coconut milk and remove 1/4 cup of the liquid from the bottom of the tin and add pour over the sweet potato. Add the rest of the tin of coconut milk, along with the broccoli and spinach, to the kale and tomato; simmer for a further 5 minutes before removing from heat. Gently stir all fish into the mixture and then pour into the pie dish (you will need a large ceramic lasagne dish for this). Now take the sweet potato, add a sprinkle (or more) of cumin and mash until it’s as smooth as you want it and then spread it evenly over the top of the dish, making sure you cover the edges and corners. Place the dish in the oven and turn down to 180, Gas mark 5, bake for 20 – 30 minutes or until the top is a little brown.

Someone else cooked me dinner, which was strange since I had to explain the long list of things which I would be unable to eat, and I then had to monitor the cooking process so that nothing illegal was secretly sneaked into the meal. We ate steak (lots of steak) which was flavoured with mixed spices, chilli, lime, garlic and olive oil and served with spring onion and bean sprouts. The meat was fantastic and perfectly cooked but the lack of green vegetables saddened me slightly. I then ate more dates. FAIL! Note to self, no more dates.

Leave a Reply

