#Whole30 Day 5&6

So far all is well in my #Whole30 world. Training is being amped up a little and the healthy eating is making me feel more energetic. I am hungrier and I’m eating more often, which can’t be a bad thing since I love food; I just hope I don’t turn into some food crazed monster on a permanent mission for protein! I am enjoying experimenting with my cooking and keeping everything as clean and lean as possible; it is not as challenging as I first thought and I’m enjoying the light freshness of everything. So Day 5 morning started with 1km run, 10 hill sprints, and a short WOD (10 press ups, 15 tricep dips, 20 leg raises, 30 squats, 40 lunges and 50 calf raises) plus a short 40 lengths of the pool! Then came breakfast, starting with the Green Slushy – my new Green Smoothie recipe which has made me EXTREMELY happy, and because it is making me so happy, I thought it was only fair that I share it with you all!

Green Slushy

  • 1/2 fresh Mango cut into cubes
  • 1 cup frozen yellow sweet melon, cubed
  • 1 cup frozen watermelon, cubed
  • 2 cups of Kale
  • 1 Avocado
  • 6 basil leaves
  • 1 to 2 cups of water, as desired (add 1/2 cup at a time)

Blend ALL the above ingredients until smooth and add the water slowly until it’s the consistency you want! For easy frozen fruit, freeze cubes in 1 cup portions for easy use.

#Whole30-5

Following this I decided to indulge in a proper breakfast frittata of courgette, bell peppers, mushroom and smoked haddock. Lunch was a bit of a rushed job and comprised only 1 smoked haddock fillet and 1 avocado, while pears and fresh pineapple snack throughout the afternoon kept me going till dinner. Dinner was a beef fillet served with a few stir fried veg – mushroom, courgette, peppers, leeks, tender stem broccoli and coriander with a dash of lime juice. Fresh whole foods and deliciousness; things that will make any tummy happy.

Day 6 was perhaps a little unimaginative on my part – more of the same. Green Smoothie: Pineapple, watermelon, pear, kale, cucumber and coconut water. Breakfast was Bacon, Haddock, Avo and Scrambled Eggs. Lunch was a super quick warm salmon salad; celery, spinach, green beans and artichoke hearts topped with a quick grilled salmon fillet. Simple perhaps, but still utterly delicious and completely satisfying. Dinner was basically salmon, lots and lots and lots of raw salmon. It was like an extreme sashimi eatathon; I think I devoured 4 portions (of 6 pieces each) of Salmon sashimi, followed by a seaweed salad and some steamed asapargus with grilled prawns in lemon juice. Trying to ask the chef in a Japanese restaurant to ‘hold the soy sauce’ was tricky, but in the end I definitely succeeded in having the cleanest Japanese meal of my life, and it felt pretty good too!

#Whole30-6

I’ve never experienced pure, unadulterated¬†hunger on such a regular basis as I am at the moment; I can really feel the hunger pangs when I’ve been without a solid meal for a few hours, this is in part due to my new training regime but also largely down to the lack of heavy processed food and simple carbohydrates. My body is able to work through the protein and veg very quickly and when it’s all gone my body lets me know, in a very big way! I love the fact that I can eat more without having to feel guilty about it. This is the single biggest change which I am most happy about; long may the #Whole30 Hunger continue!

 

Leave a Reply

