#Whole30 – Days 3 & 4

Day 3 may have been a bit of a lazy day, being a Sunday and all, but it got off to a reasonable start; mid morning walk with the dogs through several muddy fields followed by a long bath and a trip into town for a lazy Sunday brunch in Honiton. Unfortunately the menu didn’t cater too well for a whole #30 and several tweaks were required – the helpful manager and chef made this much easier! Soooo…. Day 3: Brunch – Mushrooms, Spinach, Bacon and Poached Egg, then snacked on a Banana and an Apple during the course of the afternoon. THEN I made a Roast Chicken with Roast Sweet Potatoes, Onion and Carrots as well as steamed Broccoli and Cabbage sides!  The mere fact that I can indulge in a proper Sunday Roast with all my favourite trimmings honestly makes the world of difference when on such a strict eating regime. It feels like cheating, but it isn’t!

#Whole30-3

Day 4 was Monday Madness which started out with a bit of a workout; a 4km Run followed by a short circuit of Press Ups, Tricep Dips, Leg Raises and Squats. This was then followed a swim (40 length of the very small pool!). All in all a pretty reasonable start to the week… perhaps not as energised as I might otherwise have liked, but we are trying to ‘ease back into things’ after a not very fit February. Breakfast began as usual with a Green Smoothie – Banana, Blueberries, Mango, Apple Juice, Spinach, Cucumber and Avo with a splash of Apple Juice and some water. NOM! The main meal consisted of 2 Scrambled Eggs, 2 Rashers of Bacon, Mushrooms, Spinach and Tomato (pictured). Lunch was my leftover ‘Wild Shepherds Pie’ from Saturday night served with Broccoli, again. Dinner was Pan fried Salmon Fillet with Asparagus Spears and a mixed veg bowl of green beans, red pepper and tomato. So good. So so so good. I love simple food, especially when you have really great fresh organic ingredients. I may also have grabbed a mid afternoon home-made ‘trail mix’ of mostly nuts with a sprinkling of dried fruit. Sneaky. The hunger was there, body needed feeding, OBVIOUSLY!

#Whole30-4

I have already noticed that I am listening to my body more; I can actually feel myself getting hungry and I know its time to eat. I have no strict rules about eating times other than not to leave more than 4 hours between meals, and right now I’m eating more often than that but if my body says so then I do what it tells me. For the first time since my last juice detox back in late November, I actually have NO bloating, I am not tired, sluggish or bleary eyed (even on 5 hours of sleep Sunday night) and I can feel my brain working harder and faster and my focus is better, as is my memory. And all in less than 5 days! The training helps too; any morning exercise increases mental acuity throughout the day and it also helps us to sleep better. Proven fact. So, 4 days in, good results so far, lets see how the rest of the week turns out. I’m excited

 

Leave a Reply

