PUREARTH Juice Cleanse – Day 2

So today is the second day of my juice cleanse and it’s been a quiet day on all fronts. I started the day well enough, pretty much the same as yesterday, just with a little less energy. Today has been a peaks-and-troughs kind of day; I’ve been a pendulum of energy, one minute I have absolutely none, and the next minute I have what feels like boundless energy that might well last forever, but doesn’t. In fact, my short energy bursts seem to last no more than 20 minutes, during which time I try to make the most of them by writing furiously or doing household chores as I have been working from home all day. Then I have energy slumps which last much longer, anything up to an hour and a half. Once or twice today I almost nodded off, although I didn’t get very much sleep last night so I won’t be blaming this entirely on the detox. On a more positive note I am craving food far less, and the hunger seems to come occasionally, though not nearly as often as yesterday, which is a big step in the right direction for me. I’ve been very distracted today too so work has been somewhat drawn out and painful; again, this may be due to my lack of sleep and not the detox. I was heading out for a Bikram Yoga class this evening and am quite glad I ended up having to work instead since I’m not sure I would have managed an hour and a half class in a hot room feeling the way I did. Still, not feeling too bad, no headaches or anything strange to report. I think the test will be day three; tonight I plan to have an early night and catch up on some much needed sleep before tackling the third day of this detox. I am considering a light jog in the morning too, if I feel up to it, which might actually help with the energy levels.

Now, there is something I should tell you about this detox that I am really quite impressed with. The Juice! Yes, it’s a juice detox and there is no food involved and perhaps that sounds quite tedious, however, with juice that tastes this good it’s actually become quite a pleasurable experience. I have found myself drinking much slower than I normally would because I want to savour the flavour, and then when it’s gone I start looking forward to the next one. Not because I’m hungry or because my body needs it, purely because I genuinely enjoy drinking them. When the juice arrived 2 days ago I thought I might not enjoy having the same juice every day; today I had the same juice as yesterday and somehow it was still interesting and still refreshing. There is only one part of the cleanse I don’t enjoy quite as much, and that’s the Bentonite Clay and Psyllium husk drink; it tastes a little like oats and chalk in water, and although it makes my tummy happy, it’s not exactly the most exciting thing on the menu. This is a small price to pay for the incredible benefits of the whole process though, and its not bad in any way, just somewhat flavourless. I can live with that. I am thoroughly enjoying the juice; I’m even thinking about taking this to new extremes and trying out the 14 Day Juice Cleanse in January once the Christmas season has restored my toxin levels and I start to feel the need to be clean again! I’m not committing to anything yet though, let’s just see how I do on a 7 day cleanse first; if everything is still running smoothly on by 7 then I will definitely be doing this again very soon.

Leave a Reply

