#HealthKick – Getting Started

Being in the summer sunshine has had a strange effect on me, not least because I’ve been staying outside of Sydney in a quiet suburban area and indulging in the peace and quiet, but I’ve suddenly been motivated to get back on the health and fitness train. The intention is to get myself back to fighting-fitness and super-glowing healthiness. This is no small task, so I decided that I would start small with a few runs a week and some diet changes, the start of which was a pledge to have a daily Green Smoothie.

I look back through old photographs and realise that I was once super-healthy and quite fit; I was of course working as a personal trainer at the time, which may or may not have something to do with it. I was also happier and more settled, which is another set of personal obstacles I am currently working on. All this self-improvement seems like an awfully big and rather daunting task.

I will not be defeated. I will remain positive. I will not beat myself up. I will keep on keeping on. Even when I take a step backwards from time to time, I will take two more steps in the right direction to make up for it. Even when all the cards seem to be dealt against me, I will find the positive and the seek out the motivation to return to my present goals. 

I keep telling myself these things because honestly, I know that sometimes the hardest thing to do is keep going. Results take time, they do not come over night and sometimes we get tired, or the climb to the top gets tough, or we feel like giving up when there seems to be no end in sight. I have different goals for myself these days too, more realistic and healthier goals – I am not on some foolhardy vanity mission to lose 10kg’s in weight by Christmas, I simply want to improve my fitness and health on a daily basis and for this there is no end goal, there are just lots of little goals that keep growing every day and keep me motivated.

I don’t want to live in an all consuming, all-or-nothing world of weight watching, calorie counting madness, I want to eat well and live well. I do not want to be skinny, I want to be stronger and fitter than I’ve ever been. The hardest part of my day is putting on my running shoes and stepping out the door; the best part of my day occurs a mere 2 minutes later when I find my rhythm and feel the warmth in my body and the wind on my face and the pure, unadulterated freedom of the open road.  There is no better feeling in the world than knowing you are taking the steps you need to take to being the best version of yourself that you can possibly be.

 

One thought on “#HealthKick – Getting Started

Leave a Reply

