New Beginnings…

I don’t really recall the exact number of times I have moved house; it’s somewhere in the region of 25 to 30, the majority of which have been in the last 13 years (I only moved twice before that). I have moved countries 6 times, attended 6 schools as a child, have lived in 4 major cities and on a remote beach for a short time. I have recently come to the conclusion that this is just something that has stuck with me in life, and something that may very well take a long time to change. Old habits die hard, as they say. I can fit every worldly possession into 2 (admittedly very large) bags.

Recently I moved to Cape Town (I arrived in March, 2012) – yes, I’m here, in this windy city full of beautiful people,  sunny beaches, magical mountains, awesome coffee and creative cliques; and I have to say, I rather like it. No scratch that. I love it!

It’s a far cry from living in the bustling streets of London, but the atmosphere and creative energy here is boundless; it is a land of opportunity, so long as you don’t tread on any land mines (no, not actual land mines); there are unspoken rules and a certain etiquette one needs to follow, so to speak. That being said, it is pretty fantastic living by the ocean, in a gorgeous sunny city at the tip of Africa; it almost feels as if anything is possible here.

Leave a Reply

